Skip to content

Mind Tricks

February 23, 2012

Today, I had an MRI to make sure my Paresis Of Facial Nerve is caused by a virus. I’ve never done one before and certainly I wasn’t prepared to have it. Before I have an examination or take medication, I always ask family and friends and do some internet research to get some opinions. But, not today! I got in the tomography room, this nice gentleman spreaded some paper on a long bed-thing and asked me to lie down. I did, so far so good. He asked me a few questions and then he said I’d have to stay in there for half an hour. Ok, I thought…wait what??? Half an hour in there??? He gave me a small balloon shaped thingy to squeeze if I needed something. Ok, I thought. Oh no, who am I kidding? It’s not ok, I feel trapped…I’m freaking out!!! Wait, focus! Think positive! I just breastfed the baby, so he’s not going to need me soon. Yeah, but if something happens to him…are the gonna tell me or wait till the examination ends? Nothing’s gonna happen silly! What if an earthquake happens? Are they gonna leave me here? No earthquake’s gonna happen, relax! Ok , I’m fine…oh no, why should we be on a basement? I’m so scared! My stomach feels like…oh man! It’s ok…everything’s gonna be ok! I’m in Peristeri (that’s where I’ve been living for the biggest part of my life), my mother and my son are right outside. Nothing’s gonna happen to me. But what if something happens to them…I won’t be able to protect them?! Listen Krysta…THINK POSITIVE…ok let’s see…my favourite beach, babies, yoga, the sun, lots of books, orange, camping…hey that works…cooking, dancing, love, pedicure, stars, beer…nice…good for me…I’m totally relaxed! Half an hour so, that’s a lot…probably only 5 minutes have already passed. Hey, remember positive thinking…I won’t even realize when all this time have passed. So, let’s explore this place a bit. I tried to lift my head up… not possible. I tried to spread my arm to see how deep my body is to this machine. Every now and then I was feeling the bed moving deeper (creepy). I heard the gentle man’s voice…”Try to remain still…our photos are blurry”. Oops, no more exploration for me. I’m kinda used to that…hey, I kinda like it here! The ”door” opens and a nice doctor is looking at me. Asks some questions and gets me out.  Phew…that was a journey! Man your mind can play really dirty games with you. I wish I could control mine better and don’t let fear get in the way. At least I have my relaxing thoughts…they help me a ton!

Something to remember: While breastfeeding no MRI outline should happen cause after that they give you non breastfeeding compatible medication. At least that’s what happens in Greece.

No comments yet

Leave a comment